UAAP Season 81 chess: NU, La Salle beat foes

National University and De La Salle University opened their title-retention bids in the men's and women's division by topping Ateneo in the opening round of the UAAP Season 81 chess tournament Wednesday at the University of Santo Tomas' Quadricentennial Pavilion.

With reigning MVP IM Paulo Bersamina leading the charge, the four-peat seeking Bulldogs blanked the Blue Eagles, 4-0.

The Lady Woodpushers, with WCM Mira Mirano now playing at the top board, overpowered the Lady Eagles, 3-1.

Aside from Bersamina, also emerging victorious for NU are Christian Magtabog, Robin Ignacio and rookie Arnel June Iligan.

Ella Moulic and Samantha Revita supported Mirano by providing wins for De La Salle.

In other men's results, University of the Philippines nipped De La Salle, 2.5-1.5, Far Eastern University overwhelmed University of the East, 3.5-.5, while Adamson University downed UST, 3-1.

Women's action also saw Adamson University edging FEU, 2.5-1.5, UP nosing out NU, 2.5-1.5, and UE and UST battling to a 2-2 draw.