The New York State Boxing Hall of Fame has announced the eighth annual induction class, which includes 24 people who will honored at the induction dinner on April 28 at Russo’s On The Bay in Howard Beach, New York. The class includes living boxers Wilfred Benitez, Dick DiVeronica, Rogelio Tuur, Davey Vasquez, Michael Olajide and Monte Barrett. Living non-participants getting the call are promoter Don King, judge John McKaie, broadcaster Steve Albert, referee Arthur Mercante Jr. and trainer Bob Jackson. Posthumous honorees are boxers Jimmy Carter, Al “Bummy” Davis, Marty Servo, Roland LaStarza, Paddy DeMarco, Sid Terris and Leach Cross and non-participants matchmaker Dewey Fragetta, referee Johnny LoBianco, referee Wayne Kelly, sportsman Harry Hill, journalist Jimmy Cannon and commission official Joe Dwyer.

Dan Rafael, ESPN Senior Writer362d ago